All In

It’s good to be back participating in the FiveMinuteFriday.com again this week. I failed to contribute for last week’s word suffer due to the pain it would cause so I was pleased to discover this week’s word, dedicate.

We live in a culture that it is common place to check out if the going gets the least bit tough. I’m from a Christian home with both parents who were dedicated to each other. My wife, however, experienced the pain of divorce and then her step father leaving so she had difficulty trusting me when we were first married. I tried to explain that she was stuck with me no matter what. This year we will celebrate 38 years of marriage. We aren’t perfect and I’m sure there have been days when she doesn’t like me but I know she always loves me. We have made some amazing memories but like everyone it hasn’t always been sunshine and rainbows. I mess up constantly but I’m all in to being there for my wife and our family. I don’t understand when I hear someone say that they are giving their 50% to the relationship. Marriages won’t work if both partners are not 100% dedicated to making it work.

I am so grateful that Jesus was all in when it came to our salvation. He was fully dedicated to doing everything necessary to provide us a way back to the Father. He suffered torture and even worse had to take on our sin as a perfect sacrifice. His anguish in the garden was palpable. He asked His Father to take it away if all possible but still accepted God’s will. To further demonstrate His dedication, Jesus had the power and the authority to end it all. He could have simply said that we were not worth it and it would have been all over. He was dedicated to point of death on the cross to offering a way back to the Father.

Philippians 2:8

8 He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death—even to death on a cross.

Romans 5:8-9

But God proves His own love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us! 9 Much more then, since we have now been declared righteous by His blood, we will be saved through Him from wrath.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Yeah, old school, whatever.

    Dedicated to the fight,

    this is what I’m living for.

    Whether I am wrong or right,

    I bring the pain, I bring the war

    to those who dare to disagree

    with my views on what is good.

    Maybe it is only me

    and, yeah, sure, maybe I should

    take the time to tolerate

    the morons I think wrong,

    and maybe I should hesitate

    to play a game of Pong

    with the useless futile dregs

    of what hangs between their legs.

    Reply

  2. Congratulations on 38 years! Good relationships often involve hard work, but staying dedicated is worth it. So glad for Christ’s faithfulness! Visiting from FMF#10

    Reply

  3. congrats on so many years together. it’s a thing well fought for! 

    FMF11

    Reply

  4. I understand your wife’s position. I too came from a divorced family, and had a hard time believing my husband wouldn’t sooner or later leave me. We are going on our 46th anniversary. Yes! I told him he could leave me if he wanted after 100 years of marriage. 🙂

    Reply

  5. BTW—-I am a FMF friend #12 🙂

    Reply

  6. congratulations! Yes, dedication like Jesus showed is astounding.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.