Almost Heaven?

No, I’m not talking about West Virginia. The almost I’m referring to is the answer I received to many of the questions I asked our kids when they were younger. Is your room clean? “Almost, Daddy”. Almost tends to be a rather relative term because in fact their room actually resembled a nuclear test missile site.

My son, who firmly believed that homework and many other school assignments were merely suggestions, would frequently answer almost when questioned regarding the completion status of school work. Translation: He was going to start it as soon as he finished making the perfect song mix for the project and right after the Doctor Who marathon was over.

My lovely bride was and still is not immune to the land of almost. “We need to be leaving soon. Are you ready?” More often than not, she will sweetly respond with “Almost”, which means that I have some time to waste before getting in the car. Before I get too high and mighty, I need to confess that I can be guilty of using the almost sliding scale myself. On more than one occasion when asked if I have completed the chore that my love has requested some time prior, I have used the almost standard response. There may be parts scattered with no particular pattern or any idea of how to reassemble the chaos. Needless to say, almost is at best a relative term which tends to have no real relevance to the status of completion of a task.

That’s why it is so significant that God through Jesus left nothing to doubt in regards to salvation. There was absolutely no almost involved when Jesus paid the price I could never have paid. The debt for my sin was satisfied by God himself with Jesus’ proclamation that “It is finished.” No almost paid, no ifs, ands, or buts about it.

John 19:30

30 When Jesus had received the sour wine, he said, “It is finished,” and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

Romans 5:18

18 Therefore as by the offence of one judgment came upon all men to condemnation; even so by the righteousness of one the free gift came upon all men unto justification of life.

Each Friday I participate in the FiveMinuteFriday.com challenge to write for five minutes on a prompt word. Today’s word is almost.

One response to this post.

  1. Great reminder that Christ’s work on the cross is complete and he has given us everything we need to live for him. Visiting from FMF#9

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.