That’s All I Can Stand…

The title of today’s post is the first part of Popeye the Sailor’s catch phrase if you are unfamiliar with it. The entire quote of “That’s all I can stan and I can’t stands no more” was usually spoken when Popeye was in a bad way where upon he would inhale a can of spinach to make everything right. One week removed from our big move, I am fast approaching the point of I can’t stands no more. Let’s just in other words say that I have pretty much reached my limit. I have muscles aching that I didn’t even know I had. Fortunately our new home has a large barn but it resembles more of a warehouse for junk than an ideal quaint country barn. My son did an excellent job of replacing the nasty carpet in our bonus room with luxury vinyl planks. This morning, we attempted to dispose of said carpet which may have pushed me over my limit. First, we were informed that carpet could not be disposed of at the convenience center but must be taken to the main dump on the other end of our new county. We were in my son’s truck and I was supplying the gas but I still regretted the fact that it would take so much more time. We had no idea of the proper process once we arrived. I had nothing to prove I was now a county resident to the attendant and cell coverage was spotty at the best. She must have pitied my ineptitude because she processed us anyway. To push me a little further over my limit, I had not expected to need cash for a trip to the dump but at least she informed me that an ATM was located only 2.3 miles even further away. Thank goodness for small favors because the ATM was apparently within our network so I was not charged the convenience fee which by that time I would have gladly paid. I figured my wife may have been a little concerned that our garbage had been hijacked but as stated earlier, any demands for ransom would have been unsuccessful because we were several miles beyond the edge of nowhere.

As frustrated as I was by being pushed beyond my limits, my inconvenience and trials were so insignificant compared to the limits the Father has gone to have a relationship with Him. I mess up time and time again making the same mistakes over and over again but He waits like the Father of the prodigal son for me to return. His love knows no limits and there is no limit to the distance He goes to demonstrate that love. Jesus went as far as He needed to go on the cross until it was finished.

Each week I participate in the FiveMinuteFriday.com challenge to write on a prompt word. Today’s word is limit.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by princessofthelaundrybasket on April 13, 2024 at 6:04 am

    How exhausting and frustrating moving is. In a previous house move, we arrived (with lorries full of furniture on an hourly rate) to find a landrover parked on our lawn, a strange man in our new house, and the inside only partly cleared. His boss, the son of the elderly owner, hadn’t thought we’d actually want to move in on the day we completed the sale!

    God bless you in your new home and county.

    Your FMF Neighbour #9

    Reply

  2. let God be your can of spinach eh? :) sorry…but that’s what immediately popped into my head as you connected all the dots. I do hope the rest of your move goes smoothly and is filled with more people taking pity on you in your times of need. FMF11

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rachel Mendell on April 15, 2024 at 6:36 am

    Amen! We are there right now! Lots of crazy road blocks and new irritations to work through.

    God is good!

    Blessings! FMF#4

    Reply

  4. Popeye frequently reached his limits, I recall. You made it so much fun, despite your weariness. Well done. God bless you in your new home.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.