Never Alone

Having survived three teens journey to adulthood, I had very few instances of being lonely. As a matter of fact about the only alone time I could manage when all three were at home was in the bathroom. Now that they have their own homes, it is just my wife and I so the opportunity to be by myself happens much more frequently. During our recent move, I experienced a bout with loneliness. The day we had movers loading up the bulk of our furniture, I was by myself in our former home. We had left my car at our new home about an hour away. We loaded my wife’s SUV and our son’s truck, who had come to offer assistance for the move, pretty full. They then drove to the new home. I had our dog and that was about it. Our Internet service and home phone had been disconnected and all our food had already been taken to the new house. Cell coverage in the neighborhood was spotty at best so I felt rather disconnected. Lunch time had long passed and I was getting quite hungry. After several failed attempts to contact food delivery services, I was forced to accept my fate until my son returned to take me and the dog to our new home. My vivid imagination pictured visions of Tom Hanks, Wilson, and “I made fire”. Fortunately my son called asking for my lunch order before I could make a volleyball my BFF.

Despite my hunger pangs and my isolation from on line and cellular communication, I was never in any real danger of long periods of being lonely. My wife and son had not abandoned me, not to mention my trusty canine companion. Even more so is the fact that the Father has promised that He will never leave me. I think that’s why Joshua 1:9 has become my go to verse.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged because the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

Each Friday I participate in the FiveMinuteFriday.com challenge to write for five minutes on a prompt word. This week’s word is lonely.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel Mendell on April 22, 2024 at 7:24 am

    Love the Joshua verse! Amen! FMF#2

    Reply

  2. Gotta love that promise from God.🙏 FMF friend–One_Local_Gal

    Reply

  3. He is with us, but some still experience loneliness – it is then the ‘Footprints’ poem comes to mind.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sandra K Stein on April 23, 2024 at 1:29 pm

    Loved this post–and God’s promise.

    Wishing you all the best n your new home.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.