K.I.S.S.

Each Friday I participate in the FiveMinuteFriday.com challenge to write for five minutes on a prompt word. This week’s word is complicate. I usually try to complete the challenge on Friday but this week has been more than little unusual. We completed our move to be closer to our daughter, to be completely honest closer to our 2 1/2 year old and one month old granddaughters. We had lived in that home for nearly 29 years. We had movers move the vast majority of our furniture on Thursday but spent Friday packing, loading on a U-haul, and cleaning up the old house. I honestly believe someone was bringing stuff in the back door every time we would put something on the truck, either that or it was undergoing some kind of mitosis and forming new colonies of junk after we turned our backs. I say all this to maybe in some way justify my failure to keep it simple. I must avoid using the last s of that principle because I referred to myself out loud when I made a less than sterling choice in front of the two year old only to have her repeat it quite plainly. Needless to say, I was exhausted both mentally and physically and I blame that on my lack of judgement.

Saturday I planned on taking our son who came into town to help with the move and do some work on the new house along with my daughter and her family out to eat at a river front restaurant close to our new home. I got dressed and we decided to stop at Walmart on the way to pick up some supplies before going to the restaurant. I was wearing slip-on shoes but my toes felt awfully cramped in the right shoe. I began to mentally run through the possibilities for the discomfort. Had I twisted my foot during the move resulting in.swollen toes? Maybe I should have just worn thinner socks. Had I developed some strange allergy at the new location that was manifesting itself only in my right foot? I tried to complicate the situation with a myriad of reasons for my discomfort suffering in silence. It was only this morning getting ready for church that I once again slipped on my shoe experiencing a shooting pain. Before reviewing the same litinny of probable causes, I reached into the shoe to only to discover a sock stuffed into the toe box. I suffered because I failed to keep it simple.

Too often folks tend to make God’s plan way to complicated. The Father sent Jesus to pay the price for our sin. That’s it it all we have to do is admit that we are sinners who can’t save ourselves and accept the price He paid. We get to have fellowship with the Father because of Jesus’ sacrifice. It’s not complicated, all wew need to do is to keep it simple.

John 3:16

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son that’s anyone who believes in Him shall have eternal life.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Well done. I love the analogy and it drew to a good conclusion. Nice. 

    FMF2

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rachel Mendell on April 8, 2024 at 4:27 am

    Amen! blessings on the new digs! FMF#4

    Reply

  3. the scene of packing to move made me smile in empathy! It seems never-ending! Blessings upon you in your new home.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.